Groo the Game
If you like the comic, you'll love the game. Groo the game is a card game
for 2-4 players. It is not a collectible card game like Magic, meaning that
each game has the same set of cards. There is also an Expansion set, which
has 55 new cards and allows you to play with two more players.
Where do you get Groo the Game? Well, it's out of print as of early 2000.
- What groo cards exist for this game?
There is a basic set, which includes a deck, rules, and 7
do-it-yourself dice, meaning that they are blank dice and you put
stickers on the dice. The deck is complete for a 2-4 player game and
it has 60 cards.
There is also an expansion set with 55 cards. This allows adding two
Note that there is no "rarity" to these cards, this is not like Magic.
- The instruction book has an example Dragon card, but it's not in my
The dragon is in the expansion. Remember, Groo is NOT a CCG like Magic, so you
are not missing any essential or rare cards in your game.
- What's the deal with the "do-it-yourself" dice?
Main reason is cost. There is also an interesting tax
implication in the UK - books are VAT free, games are not,
and dice is one key distinction between games and books.
But the main reason is cost.
Here are some rule questions and comments. Please let me know if you have
any questions or clarifications.
- There are some duplicates of cards, where one says "removed from game
after played" and the other does not. Is this a typo?
Nope. I believe Rufferto is an example of such
card. One version of the card is removed from the game and the other
- What does "discard" mean?
We have been playing as it means removing a card from your hard OR from play. I am
starting to learn toward meaning in play for buildings and army cards
Note that if you have a Shipyard in your hand and Groo comes to
your town, you don't need to discard it. This is an example where
discard from play applies only and helps the argument that says it is
only from play.
- Can I creatively apply building damage to save my buildings?
No. For example, if you have a pair of buildings, each with VP=2, and
one Bowman gets through for 2 damage, you must destroy one
building, you cannot distribute the damage points.
- What's the exact timing on being able to change the dice (i.e., from
Bank and Pawnshop and Marketplace)?
For example, the Bank allows you to change one die result into another
This means each turn, not just your turn. We rule that you can only
change the dice, when they have been passed to you in the leftover
phase. The Marketplace is restricted to being usable only on
your turn. Note: you cannot use this ability the turn you play a building.
- What happens if I have to play a wild card during draw phase? Do I
get to replace the card?
This is not obviously clear. We are currently playing that you do NOT
replace the card.
- Are buildings destroyed if A Fray is played?
A Fray will save your buildings. For example, supposed your
opponent attacks you with a Dragon (Power 3 with a +2
modifier). You'll need to defend with many troops to save your
buildings. Instead just play A Fray with no defenders and the
Dragon basically is wasted (as a side effect Groo goes to the town
with the most buildings).
Now I have been playing the above way forever.
However, I contacted the Archangel group a while ago and
they told me that if you play the Fray card it not only destroys all
the army cards at the attacked town's location but also at the
attacker's village (unless it is a card that is immune to Wild Cards)
so you have to be careful when you play it. I never liked that ruling
but it's how we play it now.
This actually seems a little fairer to me, basically Groo kills all
army cards at both locations, which is definitely in spirit with Groo!
- How many victory points do I have with two Residences? How many if I
If you have one Residence in play, you get 1 VP. If you have two in
play, you get 4 VP (2 for each Residence). If you have three in play, you
get 6 (2 for each Residence).
- What happens if I have a Broken Drawbridge in play and roll no
Broken Drawbridge says that you remove one supply during your
turn. If you don't have any, then you don't lose any. Note that if
you do change another die into a supply (via Bank for example),
then you will lose it - this could be an advantage if you need to pass
on resources. Note that there are equivalent cards for losing Kopins
and Laborers (Witch Doctor) ...
- What's the deal with The Minstrel?
Well, if you choose to play this fairly powerful army card (doubles
attack or defense of one of your troops), you have to speak in rhymes
while he is in play. It will really be up to the group to decide how
strict this is.
- Are cards exchanged due to Auction House random or chosen?
Exchange a card of your choice.
- Do I have to attack if I have the Tavern?
Indeed. Even if your opponents have no buildings. Of course, if you
have no army cards, you cannot attack.
- Can I use the Inn ability during my opponents turn?
No you cannot. The card reads "usable immediately after you
roll your dice.